From the Vault...



© Capitol Records

Year of Release: 1990

track listing
  • Wild Child
  • All I Wanna Do Is Make Love To You
  • Secret
  • Tall Dark Handsome Stranger
  • I Didn't Want To Need You
  • The Night
  • Fallen From Grace
  • Under The Sky
  • Cruel Nights
  • Stranded
  • Call Of The Wild
  • I Want Your World To Turn
  • I Love You

  • WSVNRadio Archives
    A B C D E F G H I J K L M
    N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    Heart related sites:
    Heart Website
    Previous Review: #616
    Frankie Yankovic--Frankie Yankovic And His Yanks' Greatest Hits
    Next Review: #618
    Wynonna Judd--Wynonna

    Seattle is known famous for many rock and roll talent. Jimi Hendrix, Nirvana, and a band that features two sisters, Ann and Nancy Wilson, better known as Heart. Their 1990 release, Brigade, features some heavy-hitting rock tunes, and evens it out with some power ballads, making Brigade an impressive album to listen to.

    As the beginning of the album begins, it certainly grabs your attention with the opening track, "Wild Child". It's a rocker, in the true rock style Heart can provide. The main (and only) hit from this album is "All I Want To Do Is Make Love To You", which truly is one of my all-time favorite Heart songs.

    "Secret" is a power ballad, and is similar to other power ballads heard in previous album releases as Heart and Bad Animals. "Tall, Dark Handsome Stranger" returns the band in the hard-rock style they are famous for. This one is another great rocker, like the album's first track. Turn this one up, this one rocks. Then we return to another rock/power ballad, "I Didn't Want To Need You". It's a more harder-edge ballad as "Secret", and definitely harder than their #1 hit "Alone" from Bad Animals.

    "The Night" is another hard-rock tune, that has the style of Whitesnake, and alternates with some accoustic guitar to slow down the pace in between the rocking choruses. This song is more heavy metal, rather than hard-rock (Really, what's the differnce?) "Fallen From Grace" is another medium-sized rocker, in the traditional Heart style again. "Under The Sky" is more of a pleasant ballad, like the song "All I Want To Do Is Make Love To You".

    Another pop rocker is "Cruel Nights", a song that is compared to many songs heard from their self-titled 1985 album, Heart. And then there's another pleasant ballad, "Stranded", that calms down the pace from the album's previous rockers. "Call Of The Wild", again, returns Heart in their hard-rock form. "I Want Your World To Turn" is another pop rocker.

    And since this being the month of February, a common phrase heard throughout this month, "I Love You", ends the album as a very pleasant ballad, a good way to end this album's mixture of pop, hard rock, power and pleasant ballads.

    This mixture is great for Heart's Brigade. It is an excellent album, where, once again, Ann & Nancy Wilson do what they always do best. When it first started, it was a man's rock and roll world. However the Wilson sisters can do just like any male artist can do in the rock industry: They can perform some great beautiful songs, and most of all, they can ROCK.

    © All rights reserved. Review or any portion may not be reproduced without written permission. Cover art is the intellectual property of Capitol Records and is used for reference purposes only.

    Previous Review: #616
    Frankie Yankovic--Frankie Yankovic And His Yanks' Greatest Hits
    Next Review: #618
    Wynonna Judd--Wynonna