From the Vault...


Loretta Lynn
"Honky Tonk Girl: The Loretta Lynn Collection"

© MCA Records

Year of Release: 1994

track listing
Disc One:
  • I'm A Honky Tonk Girl
  • Whispering Sea
  • Success
  • Before I'm Over You
  • The Other Woman
  • This Haunted House
  • Wine Women And Song
  • Mr. And Mrs. Used To Be
    (with Ernest Tubb)
  • Happy Birthday
  • Blue Kentucky Girl
  • Our Hearts Are
    Holding Hands
    (with Ernest Tubb)
  • The Home You're
    Tearin' Down
  • Dear Uncle Sam
  • You Ain't
    Woman Enough
  • A Man I Hardly Know
  • Talking To The Wall
  • These Boots Are Made
    For Walking
  • The Darkest Day
  • The Devil Gets His Due
  • The Shoe Goes On
    The Other Foot
  • Tomorrow Never Comes
  • If Loneliness Can Kill Me
  • Don't Come Home
    (With Lovin'
    On Your Mind
    Disc Two:
  • There Goes
    My Everything
  • If You're Not Gone
    Too Long
  • What Kind Of Girl
    (Do You Think I Am)
  • Who Says God Is Dead
  • Fist City
  • You've Just Stepped In
    (From Stepping Out
    On Me)
  • Your Squaw
    Is On The Warpath
  • Woman Of The World
    (Leave My World
  • LOVE L-O-V-E
  • Who's Gonna Take
    The Garbage Out
    (with Ernest Tubb)
  • Coal Miner's Daughter
  • You Wanna Give Me
    A Lift
  • Wings Upon Your Horns
  • The One You Need
  • Deep As Your Pocket
  • Crazy Out Of My Mind
  • I Know How
  • After The Fire Is Gone
    (with Conway Twitty)
  • Lead Me On
    (with Conway Twitty)
  • I Wanna Be Free
  • You're Lookin' At Country
  • One's On The Way
  • Rated X
  • Back Street Affair
    (with Conway Twitty)
  • Blueberry Hill
  • The Morning After
    Baby Let Me Down
  • It'll Feel Good
    After It Quits Hurtin'
  • Here I Am Again
  • The Pill
  • Ain't It Funny
  • Love Is The Foundation
  • As Soon As I Hang Up
    The Phone
    (with Conway Twitty)
  • What Sundown
    Does To You
  • Hey Loretta
  • Trouble In Paradise
  • They Don't Make 'Em
    Like My Daddy
  • When The Tingle
    Becomes A Chill
  • The Letter
    (with Conway Twitty)
  • Out Of My Head
    And Back In My Bed
  • Somebody Somewhere
    (Don't Know What
    He's Missin' Tonight)
  • She's Got You
  • Why Can't He Be You
  • I Can't Feel You Anymore
  • You're The Reason
    Our Kids Are Ugly
    (with Conway Twitty)
  • I've Got A Picture Of Us
    On My Mind
  • I Lie
  • Who Was That Stranger

  • WSVNRadio Archives
    A B C D E F G H I J K L M
    N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    Loretta Lynn related sites:
    Loretta Lynn Website
    Previous Review: #1015
    New Order--Power, Corruption And Lies
    Next Review: #1017
    Starship--Knee Deep In The Hoopla
    Loretta Lynn
    "Honky Tonk Girl: The Loretta Lynn Collection"

    Loretta Lynn IS Country...

    As we all know, Country music has changed in the previous decades, as it has a more Pop sound, rather than a traditional Country sound, as heard in its beginnings (the 1940s through the 1970s). Loretta Lynn's 3-disc box set, Honky Tonk Girl: The Loretta Lynn Collection defines Country at its finest, as it also is the Country roots for good/great Country to come after and beyond. The 3-disc set captures 3 hours of her incredible music, from 1960 to 1988.

    Disc One captures her music from her first hit I'm A Honky Tonk Girl (from 1960) to her very first (and not last) #1 Country record, "Don't Come Home A-Drinkin' (With Lovin' On Your Mind)". It is incredible to listen to her humble beginnings. There are a few duets with Errnet Tubb on disc one, and the early Country sound is defnintely priceless.

    Disc Two has many popular songs, spanning the years of 1966 to 1971. Her #1s on the second disc include "Fist City" (1968), "Woman Of The World (Leave My World Alone)" (1969), "Coal Miner's Daughter" (1970), "One's On The Way" (1972), and "Rated X" (1973). #1 duets with Conway Twitty include "After The Fire Is Gone" (1971), "Lead Me On" (1971).

    Disc Three rounds out the box set of her music, from 1971 to 1988. Her remaining #1s are all on this disc: "Love Is The Foundation" (1973), "Trouble In Paradise" (1974), "Somebody Somewhere (Don't Know What He's Missin' Tonight" (1976), "She's Got You" (1977); this song was also #1 for Patsy Cline and Ronnie Milsap ["He's Got You"], "Out Of My Head And Back In My Bed" (1978). Her remaining #1 duets with Conway Twitty: "Louisiana Woman Mississippi Man" (1973), "As Soon As I Hang Up The Phone" (1974), "Feelins" (1975).

    Throughout this extravagant collection, other standout songs include her signature song, "Coal Miner's Daughter" which became a biography movie, with Sissy Spacek playing the role of Loretta Lynn, the Ernest Tubb duets are also enjoyable. "There Goes My Everything" is here; Country artist Jack Green also had his popular version, but it is Elvis Presley's version I was first familiar with. The song titles of some are easily defined as typical traditional Country songs, the Ernest Tubb duet "Who's Gonna Take The Garbage Out" and the interesting title "You're The Reason Our Kids Are Ugly" with Conway Twitty will bring a chuckle or two.

    The collection of Loretta Lynn's career is just truly fantastic. Loretta Lynn is truly one of the Queens of traditional Country, and every song on this collection is truly enjoyable. They all have the true Country sound, something very different in Country music decades later. Obviously, there is not a bad song on this collection, and for the true old-fashioned Country fan, discovering or rediscovering Loretta Lynn's music will be a treat on this 3-disc, 3-star set.

    © All rights reserved. Review or any portion may not be reproduced without written permission. Cover art is the intellectual property of MCA Records and is used for reference purposes only.

    Previous Review: #1015
    New Order--Power, Corruption And Lies
    Next Review: #1017
    Starship--Knee Deep In The Hoopla