From the Vault...


Isley Brothers
"The Isley Brothers Story-Volume 2: The T-Neck Years (1969-85)"

© Rhino Records

Year of Release: 1991

track listing
Disc One:
  • It's Your Thing
  • I Turned You On
  • Love The One You're With
  • Spill The Wine
  • Lay-Away
  • Pop That Thang
  • Work To Do
  • That Lady
  • If You Were There
  • What It Comes Down To
  • Summer Breeze
  • Live It Up
    Pts. 1 & 2
  • Midnight Sky
    Pts. 1 & 2
  • Fight The Power
    Pts. 1 & 2
  • For The Love Of You
    Pts. 1 & 2
    Disc Two:
  • Harvest For The World
  • Who Loves You Better
  • The Pride
    Pts. 1 & 2
  • Footsteps In The Dark
    Pts. 1 & 2
  • Livin' In The Life
  • Take Me To The Next Phase
    Pts. 1 & 2
  • Groove With You
  • I Wanna Be With You
    Pts. 1 & 2
  • Don't Say Goodnight
    (It's Time For Love)
    Pts. 1 & 2
  • Inside You
  • Between The Sheets
  • Choosey Lover
  • Caravan Of Love
    (Isley Jasper Isley)

  • WSVNRadio Archives
    A B C D E F G H I J K L M
    N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    Isley Brothers related sites:
    Isley Brothers Website
    Previous Review: #1093
    Next Review: #1095
    Surface--3 Deep
    Isley Brothers
    "The Isley Brothers Story-Volume 2: The T-Neck Years (1969-85)"

    The legacy of The Isley Brothers continues, as their Volume 1 set was reviewed on our website, back in March, 2000. Their Volume 2: The T-Neck Years (1969-85) 2-disc set captures their music at their most popular, as they were one of the best R&B/Soul acts to emerge in music, and creating music that is still being enjoyed decades later.

    The first disc captures the Isleys' music from 1969-1975. "It's Your Thing" and "That Lady" are the most remembered for me, and "That Lady" was also recorded on the Isleys' Volume 1 set. Both versions are different, as the previous version was recorded during the 1950s, with the common doo-wop '50s style, where the '70s version is purely much better, a soulful classic.

    "I Turned You On" has a James Brown/Joe Tex feel. Stephen Stills originally recorded "Love The One You're With"; the Isleys' version has a more funk style. Eric Burdon & War originally recorded "Spill The Wine"; the difference is Burdon talked the main lyrics, the Isleys sang it.

    "Lay-Away" is another funkified tune; "Pop That Thang" compares to the likes of "It's Your Thing," but much slower-paced. "Work To Do" is one of those songs most remembered when the main chorus is heard. "If You Were There" was best remembered for me, by Wham! from their Make It Big release. Nice and soulful has "When It Comes Down To". "Summer Breeze" is the Seals & Crofts hit; the Isleys' version is much different than original, hardly recognized until the melody is heard.

    There are my two-parter songs on this compilation (ie: long versions). "Live It Up Pts. 1 & 2" has the Disco sound, as this type of music was just starting to merge in 1974. "Midnight Sky" goes back to the soulful Isleys, as heard on "Who's That Lady." "Fight The Power Pts. 1 & 2" returns back to Disco. "For The Love Of You Pts. 1 & 2" is a nice, slow, soulful ballad.

    The second disc captures the Isleys' music from 1976-1985. "Harvest For The World" has a nice, upbeat and soulful sound, likewise "Who Loves You Better." Disco returns on "The Pride." As I first listen to "Footsteps In The Dark," I recognize the melody from a more recent rap artist, as this song must have been sampled, or used. (Looking it up, it was used by rapper Ice Cube -- "It Was A Good Day.") Overall, the Isleys' provide a great slow, soulful jam sound on this one.

    Disco funk/soul has "Livin' In The Life" and more Disco on "Take Me To The Next Phase." "Groove With You" is a nice, slow, soulful ballad. Disco (and more comparing to the Commodores "Vrick House" Disco sound has the groove going on "I Wanna Be With You." More beautiful, soulfulness for the ballad is heard on "Don't Say Goodnight (It's Time For Love) Pts. 1 & 2." The sexy "Inside You" is funky Disco, and the last 3 songs are soulful, grooving and sexy as well: "Between The Sheets," "Choosey Lover," and "Caravan Of Love."

    The Isley Brothers Story Volume 2: The T-Neck Years (1969-85) is a great collection of the Isleys' music. It's amazing how both Volumes change with the times in music. Both volumes are a great introduction to their music. I don't remember a lot of their major hits, other than "Who's That Lady" and "It's Your Thing," but the rest of their songs are very entertaining to listen to. The Isleys still continue to record. They've had two #1 albums (surprisingly, they never had a #1 hit record on the Billboard Pop chart. Their #1 albums were The Heat Is On (1975), and most recently, Body Kiss (2003). Volume 2 has alot of heat: Great soulful, funky, tunes to keep the grooves going.

    © All rights reserved. Review or any portion may not be reproduced without written permission. Cover art is the intellectual property of Rhino Records and is used for reference purposes only.

    Previous Review: #1093
    Next Review: #1095
    Surface--3 Deep