From the Vault...


Moby Grape
"Vintage: The Very Best Of Moby Grape"

© Columbia Records

Year of Release: 1993

track listing
Disc One:
  • Hey Grandma
  • Mr. Blues
  • Fall On You
  • 8:05
  • Come In The Morning
  • Omaha
  • Naked If I Want To
  • Rounder (Instrumental)
  • Someday
  • Ain't No Use
  • Sitting By The Window
  • Changes
  • Lazy Me
  • Indifference
  • Looper (Audition Version)
  • Sweet Ride
  • Bitter Wind
  • The Place And The Time
  • Rounder (Live)
  • Miller's Blues (Live)
  • Changes (Live)
  • Hey Grandma
    Single Version)
  • Omaha
    Single Version)
  • Big
    Disc Two:
  • Skip's Song (Demo)
  • You Can Do Anything
  • Murder In My Heart
    For The Judge
  • Bitter Wind
  • Can't Be So Bad
  • Just Like Gene Autry
    A Foxtrot
  • He
  • Motorcycle Irene
  • Funky-Tunk
  • Rose Colored Eyes
  • If You Can't Learn From Your Mistakes
    (Peter Solo Version)
  • Ooh Mama Ooh
  • Ain't That A Shame
  • Trucking Man
  • Captain Nemo
  • What's To Choose
  • Going Nowhere
  • I Am Not Willing
  • It's A Beautiful Day Today
  • Right Before My Eyes
  • Truly Fine Citizen
  • Hoochie
  • Soul Stew
  • Seeing

  • WSVNRadio Archives
    A B C D E F G H I J K L M
    N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    Moby Grape related sites:
    Moby Grape Website
    Previous Review: #1225
    P.D.Q. Bach--The Short-Tempered Clavier
    Next Review: #1227
    Moby Grape
    "Vintage: The Very Best Of Moby Grape"

    While growing up, I was not familiar with the Rock / Psychedelic Rock band called Moby Grape. (The name was pretty cool, I thought.) One of their songs was on a 2-LP vinyl compilation from Columbia Records, Somethin' Else Again! -- the song "Right Before My Eyes." Obviously, this compilation was never available on CD, as I therefore started hunting down the songs from it. Moby Grape's Vintage: The Very Best Of Moby Grape included that song, and after learning more about the band, one of their album's had a controversial cover. It was their self-titled debut album, released in 1967. The original cover showed drummer Don Stevenson displaying the middle finger on the washboard. This part was airbrushed on future releases. Yet, it's considered one of the best album covers, due to its controversy.

    The Vintage collection includes the entire debut album on Disc One, with 8 unreleased tracks, and 2 mono/single versions. There are the sounds of Rock and Psychedelic Rock from the debut album. There are many great comparisons of styles too, such as The Grateful Dead "8:05," "Naked, If I Want To", Jefferson Airplane "Omaha," "Lazy Me", The Byrds "Ain't No Use" and The Monkees "Changes" (vocally, sounds a bit like Mickey Dolenz).

    The second disc contains practically the entire contents of Moby Grape's next two albums, Wow/Grape Jam and "Moby Grape '69. A few tracks are on this compilation from their fourth album, Truly Fine Citizen, and more unreleased tracks and demos.

    Interesting reading from the liner notes on this band: Yet against all of the apparent odds, Moby Grape went on to become the moswt notorious "noble failure" story in rock & roll, an object lesson in how not to succeed in the music business. Everything that could go wrong, did go wrong for the Grape during their first three, star-crossed years together: legal nightmares, police busts, stolen equipment, disatrous road and recording experiences, even drug-induced madness. (Hold on, wasn't that EVERY band's experiences in the late-1960s Rock & Roll?)

    The live cuts and unreleased tracks on Disc One are worth listening to: "Miller's Blues" (Live) -- If the 1960s Psychedelic band 13th Floor Elevators didn't use their strange sound, they could easily have sounded like this song. Moby Grape's is a fine blues version, and could even measure up to a band that would later surface in the 1970s, Led Zeppelin. On that note, another live track, "Changes" could be compared to the late-1960s/1970s band, Humble Pie.

    Second Disc highlights: The soulful "Murder In My Heart For The Judge" is a song best remembered for me by Three Dog Night. "Can't Be So Bad" is anything but... bad... It's a great rocking song. "Just Like Gene Autry, A Foxtrot" is totally different, giving its sound to that of Gene Autry's. "He" definitely compares to The Grateful Dead. Most, if not all of the songs on the second disc relates to the sounds of the Grateful Dead and the later years of The Byrds.

    The first disc is probably considered the best of the two. Although the entire album is basically an "A-Z" of Moby Grape's music, it's a fantastic entourage of a band that was destined for stardom in its early beginnings. But, like many other bands before and after them, bad legal issues, drugs, law enforcement problems would keep them from being more popular. But, to those who enjoyed there music, no matter what the issues were, Moby Grape is a great band for the 1960s Rock/Psychedelic fan, likewise for the "off-Country" fan as well.

    © All rights reserved. Review or any portion may not be reproduced without written permission. Cover art is the intellectual property of Columbia Records and is used for reference purposes only.

    Previous Review: #1225
    P.D.Q. Bach--The Short-Tempered Clavier
    Next Review: #1227