From the Vault...


The Beatles
"Live At The Star Club"

© Lingasong Records

Year of Release: 1977

track listing
Disc One:
  • I Saw Her Standing There
  • Roll Over Beethoven
  • Hippy Hippy Shake
  • Sweet Little Sixteen
  • Lend Me Your Comb
  • Your Feet's Too Big
  • Twist And Shout
  • Mr. Moonlight
  • A Taste Of Honey
  • Besame Mucho
  • Reminiscing
  • Kansas City
  • Ain't Nothin' Shakin'
    (Like The Leaves
    On The Tree)
    Disc Two:
  • To Know Her
    Is To Love Her
  • Little Queenie
  • Falling In Love Again
  • Ask Me Why
  • Be-Bop-A-Lula
  • Hallelujah I Love Her So
  • Red Sails In The Sunset
  • Everybody's Trying
    To Be My Baby
  • Matchbox
  • Talkin' 'Bout You
  • Shimmy Shake
  • Long Tall Sally
  • I Remember You

  • WSVNRadio Archives
    A B C D E F G H I J K L M
    N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    The Beatles related sites:
    The Beatles Website
    Previous Review: #1336
    Susan Tedeschi--Just Won't Burn
    Next Review: #1338
    Sly & The Family Stone--There's A Riot Goin' On
    The Beatles
    "Live At The Star Club"

    This is where it all began...

    The Beatles' first (live) recordings were in Hamburg, Germany, in 1962. The Star Club was located in Hamburg, Germany. The opening day was April 13, 1962. The band to play on that date was a band called The Beatles. They played at the Star Club from April 13, to May 31, 1962. They appeared there again on November 1, 1962. Their last performance on New Years' Eve, 1962 was captured on a home tape machine, which was remixed in 1977 as Live! at the Star-Club in Hamburg, Germany; 1962.

    Throughout the existence of the Star Club, many artists of the Rock & Roll era played there, both English and American performers. English: Chicken Shack (featuring Christine McVie, would be a member of a future band, Fleetwood Mac), Cream, Earth (who later changed their name to Black Sabbath), Jimi Hendrix Experience (although he was American, they started out in England, and was recognized (and managed) by Chas Chandler, a member of Eric Burdon & The Animals.
    American: Ray Charles, Bo Diddley, Fats Domino, The Everly Brothers, Bill Haley, Johnny & The Hurricanes, Brenda Lee, Jerry Lee Lewis (who would also have a live album, Live at the Star Club, April 5, 1964), and Little Richard.

    The Star Club closed on December 31, 1969. The building it occupied was destroyed by a fire in 1987. A Star Club memorial stands in St. Pauli, Germany.

    There are two volumes on CD of the Beatles' recordings. The first volume reviewed here, is a 2-disc set. (NOTE: I originally had this album on vinyl; it was a 2-LP set, from Pickwick Records: The Historic First Live Recordings.

    Of the 26 songs on the CD Live at the Star Club (Volume One), only two songs were John Lennon and Paul McCartney compositions: "I Saw Her Standing There" and "Ask Me Why." (Of course, the first song mentioned would be a famous song and B-side to the Fab Four's first #1 single, "I Want To Hold Your Hand." "Ask Me Why" was originally recorded as a B-side to the UK single "Please Please Me" The UK album version of Introducing The Beatles contained "Ask Me Why," where in the US, it appeared on the album The Early Beatles.

    The Beatles feature homage to their early Rock & Roll influences: Little Richard ("Kansas City", "Long Tall Sally"), Chuck Berry ("Roll Over Beethoven", "Sweet Little Sixteen", "Little Queenie"), Ray Charles ("Hallelujah, I Love Her So"), Carl Perkins ("Matchbox", "Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby,") Gene Vincent ("Be-Bop-A-Lula.") Other pre-Rock songs covered were "A Taste Of Honey" (originally recorded by Bobby Scott in 1960, but later famous in 1965 by Herb Alpert & The Tijuana Brass); and "Besame Mucho" (Jimmy Dorsey).

    Most of all the songs contained on Volume One would later be recorded by The Beatles on their future albums. But some songs I really don't remember; whether they were not as popular, or not even recorded: "Lend Me Your Comb," "Your Feet's Too Big," "Reminiscing," "Ain't Nothin' Shakin' (Like The Leaves On The Tree)", The Teddy Bears/Phil Spector produced "To Know Her Is To Love Her." "Falling In Love Again", "Red Sails In The Sunset," "Talkin' 'Bout You," "I Remember You." These songs are the surprises; as most are pre-Rock & Roll songs, like Frank Ifield's "I Remember You,"(featuring John Lennon on harmonica), Marlene Dietrich's "Falling In Love Again," (featuring a straight vocal performance by Paul McCartney), and George Harrison on vocals on The Teddy Bears' "To Know Her Is To Love Her."

    Just as the liner notes say: Of course the music isn't what it would expect to hear from a studio in 1977 but despite that these recordings were made before the Beatles became 'name' artists, their music even then had that undeniable drive which took them to the top. The music has immense appeal, both as a collector's item and as a general item. What you will be listening is a piece of musical history, and an album which most become treasured additions to any Beatles fan's record collection.

    As the tape recorder of these early recordings was spinning, History was being made: The Beatles were a band just starting out, and little did they know, that two years later, they would start the British Invasion, and become one of the most dominating bands in Rock & Roll, and even today, being over 40 decades later. The Beatles are still one of (if not THE) best bands in every music fan's collection. Loved by many, influnenced by millions, John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison and Ringo Starr lead music to its highest peaks. Even though we John Lennon and George Harrison are no longer with us, even after Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr leave us, The Beatles' music will still live on in many decades and centuries, long after you and I will have left this world -- The world that Cleveland DJ Alan Freed coined the phrase, of what he, and we call, Rock & Roll.

    © All rights reserved. Review or any portion may not be reproduced without written permission. Cover art is the intellectual property of Lingasong Records and is used for reference purposes only.

    Previous Review: #1336
    Susan Tedeschi--Just Won't Burn
    Next Review: #1338
    Sly & The Family Stone--There's A Riot Goin' On