From the Vault...


Joey Dee & The Starlighters
"Starbright: The Complete Roulette And Jubilee Singles"

© Westside Records

Year of Release: 2004

track listing
Disc One:
  • Peppermint Twist Part 1
  • Peppermint Twist Part 2
  • Roly Poly
  • Shout Part 1
  • Shout Part 2
  • Everytime (I Think
    About You) Part 1
  • Everytime (I Think
    About You) Part 2
  • What Kind Of Love Is This
  • Wing Ding
  • Keep Your Mind On
    What You're Doing
  • I Lost My Baby
  • Baby You're Driving
    Me Crazy
  • Help Me Pick Up
    The Pieces
  • Hot Pastrami
    (With Mashed
    Potatoes) Part 1
  • Hot Pastrami
    (With Mashed
    Potatoes) Part 2
  • Dance Dance Dance
  • Let's Have A Party
  • Fanny Mae
  • Ya Ya
  • Down By The Riverside
  • Getting Nearer
  • Cry A Little Sometimes
  • Everytime (I Think About You) Part 1 (With Crowd Overdub)
  • Everytime (I Think
    About You) Part 2
    (With Crowd
    Disc Two:
  • Feel Good About It Part 1
  • Feel Good About It Part 2
  • Dancing On The Beach
  • Good Little You
  • She's So Exceptional
  • It's Got You
  • You Can't Sit Down
  • Put Your Heart In It
  • Reach Out I'll Be There
  • Hold On I'm Coming
  • See See Rider
  • Guantanamera
  • The Hair On My
    Chinny Chin Chin
  • Cherry Cherry
  • Land Of 1000 Dances
  • Black Is Black
  • I Chose To Sing The Blues
  • Psychotic Reaction
  • Immer Wieder
    (Keep Your Mind On
    What You're Doing)
  • No No
  • Joey Dee Teaches You How
    To Do The
    Peppermint Twist

  • WSVNRadio Archives
    A B C D E F G H I J K L M
    N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    Joey Dee & The Starlighters related sites:
    Joey Dee & The Starlighters Website
    Previous Review: #1465
    Rustie Blue--Chip Chip
    Next Review: #1467
    Dean Martin--All The Hits - 1964-1969
    Joey Dee & The Starlighters
    "Starbright: The Complete Roulette And Jubilee Singles"

    To some, Joey Dee & The Starlighters are a one-hit wonder. "The Peppermint Twist" was a huge hit, and reached #1. It was during the "Twist" phase, started by Chubby Checker. The latest dance crazes were based on popular songs. Chubby Checker's "The Twist" basically started it all, and more songs would emerge, emphasizing a new dance craze. The song was actually inspired by the Peppermint Lounge, in which Joey & The Starlighters were to perform for a one-time gig. While there, actress Merle Oberon and Prince Serge Obiniski were dancing at the club. When the press wrote of it, it began a huge following, as crowds would form at the Pepppermint Lounge. Joey would co-write "The Peppermint Twist," with producer Henry Glover as a tribute to the lounge. With it's increased popularity, a trio of pretty female teenagers would dance there, and people thought that they were professional entertainers. Well, they would be, as this trio would become The Ronettes. Since they were mislead as professionals, they were hired as dancers at the club, and would dance along with Joey Dee & The Starlighters' performances.

    Joey Dee and his group were contracted with Roulette Records when "The Peppermint Twist" was released. They would remain there at the label from 1961 to 1965. They then moved to Jubilee, from 1965 to 1967. They would be best remembered for "The Peppermint Twist," as their many singles for both labels never achieved another popular hit as the song that they would be remmbered by.

    Starbright: The Complete Roulette and Jubilee Singles A's And B's Plus is a 2-disc set. The first disc consisting of the Roulette singles, and the second disc from Jubilee. The highlights are the "party songs," such as "The Peppermint Twist" (Parts 1 and 2). Think of these party songs a good backdrop for frat parties at the time, especially referring to the movie Animal House. Other tracks include "Hey Let's Twist," "Roly Poly," "Shout" (Parts 1 and 2; the Isley Brothers' original tune), "Everytime (I Think About You)" Parts 1 and 2, and there's a vocal overdub of this same song. "Wind Ding," "Baby, You're Driving Me Crazy." "Hot Pastrami" (Parts 1 and 2) resembles Roy Head's "Treat Her Right." "Dance, Dance, Dance," "Down By The Riverside."

    Having a more productive sound, are "Help Me Pick Up The Pieces, "Let's Have A Party," "Getting Nearer, "Cry A Little Sometimes." Remakes of hits are also here. Their versions of Buster Brown's "Fanny Mae," Lee Dorsey's "Ya Ya."

    Disc Two (Jubilee) continues the "party" songs, basically throughout the disc. "Feel Good About It" (Parts 1 and 2) could pass as almost psychedelic rock, yet the rest has the basic party atmosphere rock songs. Remakes continue here also, with The Four Tops' "Reach Out I'll Be There," Sam & Dave's "Hold On, I'm Coming," the classic "See See Rider" (numerous artists covered this one), Sam The Sham & The Pharoahs' "The Hair On My Chinny Chin Chin," Neil Diamond's "Cherry, Cherry," Wilson Pickett's "Land Of 1000 Dances," Los Bravos "Black Is Black," The Count Five's "Psychotic Reaction."

    Also from the Jubilee label: Joey Dee & The Starlighters released the album Hitsville, in 1966. All 12 tracks are on the second disc: "Reach Out I'll Be There," "Hold On, I'm Coming," "See See Rider," "Guantanamera," "Feel Good About It," "The Hair On My Chinny Chin Chin," "Cherry, Cherry," "Land Of 1000 Dances," "Black Is Black," "I Chose To Sing The Blues," "Psychotic Reaction," "It's Got You."

    Joey Dee & The Starlighters (also titled as Joey Dee & The Starliters, was never a household name, yet their "Peppermint Twist" is one of the hits you'll hear on Oldies Radio. This collection is a good assortment of other material. It's always interesting to hear other songs by such an artist, and often wonder if any of these songs could have been as popular. There are good filler songs here, and the ones that will fit the frat parties, or even oldies revivals. Nowadays, Joey does perform with a new ensemble of Starlighters. He has performed with Frankie Valli's brother, Bob. It's obvious, Joey is Italian, and comparisons to his fellow Italian musicians. Yet the Italian nationality is there, his music most likely did not match his counterparts. Yet Starbright is a good collection, and complete with his recordings from both Roulette and Jubliee labels.

    © All rights reserved. Review or any portion may not be reproduced without written permission. Cover art is the intellectual property of Westside Records and is used for reference purposes only.

    Previous Review: #1465
    Rustie Blue--Chip Chip
    Next Review: #1467
    Dean Martin--All The Hits - 1964-1969