Welcome to the WSVNRadio A R C H I V E S

Gerald Krampl
"31 Projects-The Music"

© Sandrose

February 05 - 11, 2017

Year of Release: 2006
  • Arrival
  • Prisoners Parade
  • Sorrows Call
  • Deathtrains
  • Hopeless
  • Danse Macabre
  • Elegy
  • Loosing Ground
  • Tristesse
  • Narcotic
  • Forgetten Children
  • Industrial Slavery
  • Requiem
  • In Memory
  • A New Day Dawning

  • See how this album ranks...

    [ Yahoo! ]

    The Complete WSVNRadio Album Archive
    History List

    A B C D E F G H I J K L M
    N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    purchase CD's from

    Hear a song from this album as part of our Podcast Station! Click on the logo below
    31 Projects-The Music is a non-profit multimedia documentary about the Holocaust in World War II for the internet and TV, developed by Viennese multimedia producer Andreas Pflanzi - woom:mediaV3, which strongly focuses on educational means. Designed exclusively with original fotos and eyewitness protocols made available by the European concentration camp commemorative place Auschwitz-Birkenau, with additional music composed by Gerald Krampl.

    Very classically inspired, and mostly very slow and dramatic themes with much piano, synths and virtua orchestra sounds have been the result, which surely demands from the listener his admittance to step into the mood of slowness, darkness and sadness.

    "Slowness, Darkness, Sadness..." This pretty sums it up for a very professional and interesting album, by WSVNRadio Hall of Fame (Volume 17) artist, Gerald Krampl. His previous project (and also on our Hall of Fame [Volume 7]), was Agnus Dei. Classical, Ambient, even New Age, Krampl's music sets the listener to a different dimension. This is the case on the Holocaust themed 31 Projects-The Music.

    31 Projects blends one song into another, although as dark sounding (as the first five tracks -- "Arrival," "Prisoners Parade," "Sorrows Call," "Deathtrains," "Hopeless." The gentle piano of "Danse Macabre" is like watching the ballerina in a music box. Like the previous, this track is also dark in its own texture. Track 7, "Elegy" returns to the slow, dark and sad. The same is said for "Loosing Ground," compared to other "darker" artists of New Age music -- Yanni, Ottmar Liebert, and Rick Wakeman.

    And speaking of Wakeman, his Classical pieces gets the comparison on "Tristesse." A beautiful piece, it's as if Wakeman could perform it himself. "Crematory" returns to the dark New Age, and continues onward, into the "sadness, darkness, sadness." On that, "Industrial Slavery" is an interesting sounding track, with its keyboard arrangements. Yes, the remaining three tracks are just as dark. "In Memory" is just that -- the piano sounds with such sadness, you can feel it.

    From 31 Projects: The music for 31 Projects was written under the impression of the original fotos used in the multimedia preentation, and tries to express my deep regrets for what happened to all victims of those days.

    Gerald Krampl pours his heart into each track here on 31 Projects. Based on the theme of the Holocaust, it is expected of darkness. Yet you can only experience Hope for these songs, as each one has its own darkness and sadness. Another Holocaust theme was Steven Spielberg's movie, Schindler's List. Krampl's 31 Projects can be a supplement for the Spielberg movie.

    Krampl's musical arrangements and his piano style can be a comparison to that of Rick Wakeman. (Especially on "Tristesse." Wakeman's New Age albums also has it's comparisons, and likewise to other New Age artists. [This is not New Age Jazz, this is New Age Music.]

    Despite the darkness, this is a relaxing album. It is soothing, yet throughout, it is of slowness, darkness, and sadness. Krampl's other releases, and including Agnus Dei will be future reviews here on WSVNRadio. You can find more information on him, at his website, also at indigomusic.at". Both of his Agnus Dei and solo works are there. He also has his own Facebook, SoundCloud and YouTube sites.

    © 2017 WSVNRadio.net. All rights reserved. Review or any portion may not be reproduced without written permission. Cover art is the intellectual property of Sandrose and is used for reference purposes only.