Welcome to the WSVNRadio A R C H I V E S

Gary Puckett & The Union Gap
"A Golden Classics Edition"

© Collectables

November 14 - 20, 2021

Year of Release: 1997
Woman Woman (1968)
  • Woman Woman
  • M'Lady
  • By The Time I Get To Phoenix
  • Paindrops
  • Believe Me
  • I Want A New Day
  • You Better Sit Down Kids
  • Kentucky Woman
  • My Son
  • To Love Somebody
  • Don't Make Promises
    Gary Puckett & The Union Gap
    Featuring Young Girl
  • Young Girl
  • Lady Madonna
  • Kiss Me Goodbye
  • The Pleasure Of You
  • Dreams Of The
    Everyday Housewife
  • I'm Losing You
  • Honey (I Miss You)
  • The Mighty Quinn
  • Wait Till The Sun
    Shines On You
  • (Sweet Sweet Baby)
    Since You've Been Gone
  • Say You Don't Need Me
    Extra Tracks:
  • Don't Give In To Him
  • Lady Willpower
  • Let's Give
    Adam And Eve
    Another Chance
  • Over You
  • This Girl Is A Woman Now

  • See how this album ranks...

    [ Yahoo! ]

    The Complete WSVNRadio Album Archive
    History List

    A B C D E F G H I J K L M
    N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
    A Golden Classics Edition by Gary Puckett & The Union Gap is actually the band's first two studio albums - Woman, Woman (February, 1968), and Gary Puckett And The Union Gap Featuring "Young Girl" (May, 1968). Gary Puckett & The Union Gap were popular in the 1960s. Hits like "Woman, Woman," "Young Girl," "Lady Willpower" and "Over You" were AM radio favorites. (I had "Young Girl" as a 45 rpm record.) Their music were radio-friendly sounding records (despite the songs' storyline, as in "Woman, Woman" - about a woman with cheating on her mind. "Young Girl" tells the story of getting out of my mind; my love for you is way out of line; better run, girl; you're much too young girl..." Radio-sounding friendly, with serious storyline lyrics.

    Hearing any band or artist original albums can be better than most "best of/greatest hits" compilations. In Gary Puckett & The Union Gap's case, their version of the Beatles' "Lady Madonna" was on the Columbia compilation, Somethin' Else Again!. This compilation was a 2-LP set, consisting of bands and artists with "new music" at the time, from the Columbia record label. In locating the original album their Beatles version was from, it was from the group's second studio album, Gary Puckett And The Union Gap Featuring "Young Girl." The "twofer" studio albums on this Collectables collection would have basically all of the well-known hit singles the group had: "Woman, Woman," from their debut album, and "Young Girl" from the second. Also included in this Collectables are "extra songs" that were not on both of their first and second albums. Five tracks total. Two of them would be the other well-known songs by them: "Lady Willpower" and "Over You." Both of these songs were from the group's third album, Incredible (November 1968). (That's three albums released in 1968.)

    Woman, Woman Highlights:
    "Woman, Woman" (of course)! Their version of the Glen Campbell classic "By The Time I Get To Phoenix" -- Glen Campbell's version is way better. "You Better Sit Down Kids" sounds familiar, that's because it was written by Sonny Bono, as Sonny & Cher would cover this tune. Gary Puckett & The Union Gap covers Neil Diamond's "Kentucky Woman" - their version is good, however, it's Diamond's version, and, Deep Purple's version are the ones I remember best. Their version of the Bee Gees' "To Love Somebody" is a good version. And for those who had the 45 vinyl record of "Woman, Woman," the B-side is from this album, "Don't Make Promises."

    Gary Puckett & The Union Gap Featuring "Young Girl" Highlights:
    "Young Girl" (of course)! Their version of the Beatles' "Lady Madonna" is more of a lounge version, and yes, the Beatles' version is better. GP & TUG's version is quite interesting, and, like many other Beatle covers, Puckett's attempt of this song would prove that the other songs they recorded were much better also. "Kiss Me Goodbye" is quite impressive; it's a song that Tom Jones could have recorded in the 1960s. "Dreams Of The Everyday Housewife" was another song recorded by Glen Campbell, as Puckett's version is just as good. The B-side of "Young Girl" is here, "I'm Losing You," and having the 45, I really never remembered the B-side. It's obvious, the A-side was exceptionally better. (Off the top of my head, I just didn't remember the B-side from my memory, having the 45.) "Honey (I Miss You)" is their version of Bobby Goldsboro's #1 hit. A very sad song, as the angels came, and "Honey, I Miss You, and I'm doing good. And I'd love to be with you. If only I could.) Puckett's version is good, almost as good as Goldsboro's, being the best well-known version. "The Mighty Quinn" was written by Bob Dylan, and best recorded version by Manfred Mann. Puckett's version is his own. The Manfred Mann version is better, but give Puckett and his group credit, for trying their own version. "Wait Till The Sun Shines On You" has a style of the Moody Blues, another impressive tune. Aretha Franklin's "(Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You've Bee Gone" was meant to be by Aretha. Covering an Aretha Franklin is hard to do, and much harder for a male vocalist to cover.

    Five extra tracks:
    "Don't Give In To Him" was another popular hit for Puckett and his group, likewise "This Girl Is A Woman Now." (Sorry, these two songs I didn't remember.) These two songs are here on this Collectables collection, along with two other well-known hits: "Lady Willpower" and "Over You" (another 45 I had, and, like the B-side of "Young Girl," "If The Day Would Come," it's another song I just didn't remember.) "Let's Give Adam And Eve Another Chance" is the remaining extra track, another non-remembered song from my memory. "Don't Give In To Him" and "This Girl Is A Woman Now" was from their 1969 album, The New Gary Puckett And The Union Gap Album. "Let's Give Adam And Eve Another Chance" was included on the 1970 compilation album, Gary Puckett And The Union Gap's Greatest Hits.

    One thing is certain: Gary Puckett did have a great singing voice. All the songs are radio-friendly sounding, as his musical style was his own. His group's most famous hits are all in this collection. Another collection, Looking Glass (A Collection) has twenty tracks. It has all the well-known hits, and most songs from this Collectables collection - 11 out of 20. It also has unreleased songs, and two songs by Gary Puckett solo.

    A good collection of the group's first two studio albums. And I would have to say, their second was better than the first. Gary Puckett & The Union Gap was made for AM radio, and in future decades for the Easy Listening format. By 1970, Puckett was recording solo, resulting a solo album in 1971, The Gary Puckett Album. By 1973, he disappeared from music, and studied acting, dance and theatrical productions in L.A. In 1981, he joined the oldies circuit, and toured in 1986 with the Monkees, The Grass Roots, and Herman's Hermits. He released a Christmas album in 2001. As of 1994, he has performed live concerts and venues, including touring with The Association and The Lettermen. He currently tours in the group sometimes billed as "The Union Gap." Gary Puckett is 79 years old, as of the year 2021.

    © 2021 WSVNRadio.net. All rights reserved. Review or any portion may not be reproduced without written permission. Cover art is the intellectual property of Collectables and is used for reference purposes only.

    Previous Review: #1802
    Can't Say I Ain't Country--Florida Georgia Line
    Next Review: #1804
    Notorious--Duran Duran