Welcome to the WSVNRadio A R C H I V E S

The Who
"Two's Missing"


April 22 - 28, 2018

Year of Release: 1987
  • Bald Headed Woman
  • Under My Thumb
  • My Wife (Live)
  • I'm A Man
  • Dogs
  • Dogs Part Two
  • Circles (Revised Version)
  • The Last Time
  • Water
  • Daddy Rolling Stone
  • Heat Wave (Original Version)
  • Goin' Down (Live)
  • Motoring
  • Wasp Man

  • See how this album ranks...

    [ Yahoo! ]

    The Complete WSVNRadio Album Archive
    History List

    A B C D E F G H I J K L M
    N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
    The Who's Two's Missing is a compilation of the band's songs that did not appear on their released albums. While listening, these tracks are basically different, and not your usual sounding Who-like songs. However, they are mostly from the early years of the Who's career, and establishing these songs from the early 1960s British Rock.

    "Bald Headed Woman" was the B-side to "I Can't Explain" -- Is this The Who? They sound way different, and this is from the early years of one of the best bands out of the British Invasion, next to the Beatles and the Rolling Stones. Speaking of the Stones, there are two songs that were famous by Mick and the boys -- "Under My Thumb," and "The Last Time." The Who covers these songs well, but we are all more familiar with the Stones' versions.

    There are two live versions on this compilation: "My Wife" (originally from the classic album Who's Next, and "Goin' Down." The latter of the two sounds like it was from the Who's Live At Leeds concert.

    "I'm A Man" -- the title you would think of the Spencer Davis Group version (and/or the Chicago version), but it really sounds like the classic Muddy Waters song, "Mannish Boy.". This song was released on the UK version of My Generation. "Dogs" was the B-side to another great Who song, "Call Me Lightning." This song has an comparison to the early Pink Floyd somewhat. Keith Moon wrote the next track, "Dogs Part Two," as it is more of an instrumental. "Circles" was the B-side to "Substitute" (UK), and was on the US version of My Generation.

    "Water" features the classic rock style of Roger Daltrey, as it easily fits the common rock sound and style of the Who. It was released during Quadrophenia, and was the B-side to a track from this album, "5:15." More of the R&B side finds "Daddy Rolling Stone," and speaking of, their version of Motown's "Heat Wave" is on the compilation, as this is the "original version." (This version was released on their album A Quick One, and they covered this song extremely well.)

    Back to the early 1960s British Rock has another good track, "Motoring." Ending the album is the B-side of "Relay," "Waspman." Both of these songs were to appear on Pete Townshend's "lost" opera, Lifehouse, which was never released. It was to be the followup to the classic Rock Opera Tommy. Songs from Lifehouse were shelved, while others would be part of future Who albums, such as Who's Next (1971), Who Came First (1972; Pete Townshend solo), Odds And Sods (1974), The Who By Numbers (1975), Who Are You (1978), Hooligans (1981; compilation), It's Hard (1982). Pete Townshend would present Lifehouse Chronicles [box set] and Lifehouse Elements [a sampler from the Chronicles box set] in the year 2000. Two songs from this set were a must to own, although they were never released on future Who or Townsend solo albums: "Long Live Rock" (appears on Odds Ands Sods), and "Join Together" (appears on Hooligans"). Future box sets released afterwards would include one or both of these classic songs, as well as other later Who compilations.

    Two's Missing are the outtakes of Who recordings. Some of these songs as you listen, you could agree that these songs probably didn't fit the rest of the album contents. Perfect example is "Bald Headed Woman." The other is its title. Keith Moon and John Entwistle are no longer with us, leaving Pete Townshend and Roger Daltrey. They are still recording when they can, and on occasion they tour together. The Who's best years were with Moon and Entwistle. Their songs are classics, and their albums. They have rocked with great songs to remember them by. Hearing outtake songs, demos of well-known songs, and discovering songs that could have easily been classics are treats. ("Long Live Rock" and "Join Together.") The Who will always be one of the many Rock bands to ever be part of Rock & Roll. As Moon and Entwistle are gone, the Who's music will keep living on, for many decades, and many generations to come.

    © 2018 WSVNRadio.net. All rights reserved. Review or any portion may not be reproduced without written permission. Cover art is the intellectual property of MCA and is used for reference purposes only.